2024 GSK ARE Nominations

Nominations are now open for the 2024 GSK Award for Research Excellence!

The GSK Award for Research Excellence (ARE) is one of the most prestigious and longstanding awards available to the Australian medical research community. Among the previous recipients of the GSK Award for Research Excellence are some of Australia's most noted scientific researchers, including Professor Tony Basten (1980), Dr Bruce Kemp (1993), Professor Kathryn North (2011), and Professors Georgina Long and Richard Scolyer (2018).

Since 1980, the annual GSK ARE has been awarded to individuals or two-person teams with very significant existing track records who are well placed to further their contributions in the near future. A $100,000 grant to the winner(s)' institution supports this goal.

The judging criteria are weighted as follows:

  • 50% - potential for the nominee's contribution to science to directly or indirectly lead to the improvement of human health
  • 30% - potential for the nominee to continue to make research contributions in the field of human health. Impact on people’s lives as a result of their work and/or potential translation to a person(s) experience in the health system if their work didn't exist/progress
  • 20% - nominee's accomplishments based on academic and employment record, research grants and awards received, cited publications, and other examples of research productivity

For further information about the nominations process please view the Terms of Reference.

Submit your nomination by completing this form. Nominations open 29 April 2024 and close 14 June 2024.

The 2023 GSK Award for Research Excellence will be presented at the Research Australia Health and Medical Research Awards event later in the year.

Please direct queries regarding the award to are.arenominations@gsk.com