Skip to Content Skip to Search

GSK Award for Research Excellence opens

Nominations for GSK’s Award for Research Excellence (ARE) open today for the 35th year running. The longstanding award acknowledges outstanding Australian researchers and their work and is accompanied by an $80K grant to assist the winner on their research journey.

The GSK Award for Research Excellence has played a part in many Australian research careers. World-leading Paediatric Neurologist Professor Kathryn North (2011) and ground breaking epilepsy researcher Professor Ingrid Scheffer (2013) are both past recipients of the award. 

Professor David Craik, the biological chemist who won last year’s award, says winning the GSK Award for Research Excellence, gave his team a boost not only in funding but in morale. 

“Winning the ARE in 2014 provided the funding to help us undertake our all-important ‘blue sky’ research,” said Professor Craik. 

“It was also a great recognition of the team’s efforts. It takes many years of hard work to develop medical research.” 

GSK’s Medical Director, Dr Andrew Weekes says the opening of the ARE nominations is always an exciting time for GSK. 

“Many inspiring medical researchers have been nominated for the ARE over the last 35 years in areas such as immunology, diabetes, epilepsy, cancer and muscular disease. We always look forward to the opportunity to help support the next important Australian medical research development.” Weekes said. 

Successful applicants are generally mid-career researchers with a long-standing commitment to their field. The winner will be announced on Wednesday 18th November 2015 at the Annual Research Australia Awards, Park Hyatt, Melbourne. 

Further information is available on the GSK ARE website. Please email any enquires to Nominations close 3 July 2015. 



This media release as been issued by Palin Communications on behalf of GSK.

Media enquiries or interview requests:

Zoe Adler Bishop 
0424 462 722
02 9412 2255