GSK Award for Research Excellence

The GSK Award for Research Excellence (ARE) is one of the most prestigious awards available to the Australian medical research community. It has been awarded since 1980 to recognise outstanding achievements in medical research and facilitates career development with potential importance to human health and Australian research.

The Award, which now comes with an $80,000 grant, was first presented as the Wellcome Australia Medal and then as the Glaxo-Wellcome Medal before receiving its current name.

Among the recipients are Australia’s most noted scientific researchers, including Professor Tony Basten (1980), Professor Nicos Nicola (1993) and Professor Peter Koopman (2007).

World leading Australian researchers, Professor Georgina Long and Professor Richard Scolyer, have won the prestigious GSK Award for Research Excellence in 2018. The award recognises Professor Long and Scolyer’s outstanding contribution to melanoma diagnosis, treatment and patient care globally.

Stay tuned and follow us on social media for more information on the GSK Award for Research Excellence.